Massachusetts Homestead Declaration Attorney

For most individuals, Massachusetts provides an automatic homestead exemption of his or her primary residence for up to $125,000. However, by signing a declaration of homestead and recording it with the Registry of Deeds in the county where the property exists, you can increase this exemption by up to $500,000. 

A recent change in the law made it clear that homes held in trust, when declared by the trustee, can also benefit from the homestead declaration.

The homestead exemption does not protect against all creditors. Federal, state and local taxes, mortgages, and liens filed by MassHealth are examples of some of the creditors that a homestead does not protect against.